Nearly three months into 2022, and I genuinely cannot remember the last time I watched something from Prime Video’s content library. I’ve recently watched various shows and movies that I’ve digital purchased, but in terms of actually consuming any exclusive Prime Originals? I’m drawing a serious blank.  The streaming wars are a constant and fiercely contested battle. and while the likes of Netflix, Disney Plus and Apple TV Plus are duking it out for my attention, the Prime Video app is collecting virtual dust on my Smart TV home screen. 

Prime Video (almost) never enters the conversation  

I like to think I’ve got my fingers on the pulse when it comes to streaming. At the very least, I’m surrounded by knowledgeable colleagues who keep me in the loop on the occasions that a must-watch original series gets past my radar.  Among the Tom’s Guide staff we have daily conversations about the biggest streaming hits, as well as try our best to predict future shows/movies that will dominate the entertainment conversation. I can probably count on one hand the amount of times a show/movie on Prime Video has been involved in these discussions over the past six months. [Editor’s note: some of us have talked about The Wheel of Time season 2 rumors, but there was also discussion about how Alan Ritchson packed on 30 pounds of muscle to play Reacher] In the world of streaming with dozens of highly recommended shows/movies released every month, that’s a death sentence. While Showtime and Apple TV Plus have been hitting it out of the park with buzzed-about and critically-acclaimed streaming hits like Yellowjackets and Severance, Prime shows like Wolf Like Me haven’t been able to break through. It’s perhaps telling that earlier this month I was aimlessly looking for something to watch, and the thought of browsing through Prime Video’s library didn’t even enter my mind. Instead I scrolled through Netlifx for a bit before settling on starting Only Murders in the Building over on Disney Plus (via Star) — which was a pretty good choice in the end; it’s a fun murder-mystery romp. 

Why I’m still keeping Prime 

Hitting streaming overkill 

Recently I’ve been contemplating one of life’s biggest questions: how many streaming services is too many streaming services?  I’m currently subscribed to four streaming services (Netflix, Disney Plus, Apple TV Plus and Prime Video), and to be honest, that feels like overkill to me. I primarily focus on Netflix, with Disney Plus a comfortable second, and Apple TV Plus bringing up the rear. Prime Video, as discussed, didn’t even finish the race.  Looking for what to watch next? We’ve got all the details on how to watch Atlanta season 3 and how to watch the Halo TV series too.

I m so ready to cancel Prime Video   but this is stopping me - 75I m so ready to cancel Prime Video   but this is stopping me - 58I m so ready to cancel Prime Video   but this is stopping me - 81


title: “I M So Ready To Cancel Prime Video But This Is Stopping Me” ShowToc: true date: “2022-12-12” author: “James Molina”


Nearly three months into 2022, and I genuinely cannot remember the last time I watched something from Prime Video’s content library. I’ve recently watched various shows and movies that I’ve digital purchased, but in terms of actually consuming any exclusive Prime Originals? I’m drawing a serious blank.  The streaming wars are a constant and fiercely contested battle. and while the likes of Netflix, Disney Plus and Apple TV Plus are duking it out for my attention, the Prime Video app is collecting virtual dust on my Smart TV home screen. 

Prime Video (almost) never enters the conversation  

I like to think I’ve got my fingers on the pulse when it comes to streaming. At the very least, I’m surrounded by knowledgeable colleagues who keep me in the loop on the occasions that a must-watch original series gets past my radar.  Among the Tom’s Guide staff we have daily conversations about the biggest streaming hits, as well as try our best to predict future shows/movies that will dominate the entertainment conversation. I can probably count on one hand the amount of times a show/movie on Prime Video has been involved in these discussions over the past six months. [Editor’s note: some of us have talked about The Wheel of Time season 2 rumors, but there was also discussion about how Alan Ritchson packed on 30 pounds of muscle to play Reacher] In the world of streaming with dozens of highly recommended shows/movies released every month, that’s a death sentence. While Showtime and Apple TV Plus have been hitting it out of the park with buzzed-about and critically-acclaimed streaming hits like Yellowjackets and Severance, Prime shows like Wolf Like Me haven’t been able to break through. It’s perhaps telling that earlier this month I was aimlessly looking for something to watch, and the thought of browsing through Prime Video’s library didn’t even enter my mind. Instead I scrolled through Netlifx for a bit before settling on starting Only Murders in the Building over on Disney Plus (via Star) — which was a pretty good choice in the end; it’s a fun murder-mystery romp. 

Why I’m still keeping Prime 

Hitting streaming overkill 

Recently I’ve been contemplating one of life’s biggest questions: how many streaming services is too many streaming services?  I’m currently subscribed to four streaming services (Netflix, Disney Plus, Apple TV Plus and Prime Video), and to be honest, that feels like overkill to me. I primarily focus on Netflix, with Disney Plus a comfortable second, and Apple TV Plus bringing up the rear. Prime Video, as discussed, didn’t even finish the race.  Looking for what to watch next? We’ve got all the details on how to watch Atlanta season 3 and how to watch the Halo TV series too.

I m so ready to cancel Prime Video   but this is stopping me - 61I m so ready to cancel Prime Video   but this is stopping me - 27I m so ready to cancel Prime Video   but this is stopping me - 89